Open news feed Close news feed

Election of the Secretary General: the Committee of Ministers submits candidatures to the Parliamentary Assembly

Strasbourg, 25.03.2024 – The Committee of Ministers today decided to submit to the Parliamentary Assembly, for appointment to the post of Secretary General of the Council of Europe, with effect from 18 September 2024, the following candidatures:

  • Alain BERSET (Switzerland) 
  • Indrek SAAR (Estonia) 
  • Didier REYNDERS (Belgium) 

The Parliamentary Assembly will proceed with the election of the next Secretary General during its June part-session (24-28 June 2024).